The Flowers That Bloom In The Spring, Tra La …

… Breathe promise of merry sunshine –

As we merrily dance and we sing,

Tra La ….

What is this?

The flowers that bloom in the spring

Living here now, in North Carolina, I can readily identify with the sentiment expressed by Nanki-Poo in The Mikado, for, everywhere I look there seems to be a riot of spring flowers bursting forth from out of the ground and a myriad of buds blossoming on the camellias that someone had the forethought to plant around our house. Having said that, the regular bouts of sneezing that occur each morning as I heave myself out of bed and stumble downstairs to the kitchen to put the coffee on – seems I now have allergies – leads me to also agree with Nanki-Poo when he later sings, “Oh, bother the flowers that bloom in the spring.” Ah well, they look very pretty. By the way, if anyone can tell me what these flowers are, I’d be grateful.

Leave a Reply

